IAC Board

Hello,

I`m planning to apply for LLM programs in 2007/08 but since I will not finish faculty by the time I send my application (I`ll graduate two months later), could it reduce my chances for beeing accepted? And what documents should I send insted of a college degree?

I also heard that Fulbright schoolarship is no more available for Serbian students. Are there other schoolarships provided by US government for international students?

I was advised by some professors and assistants at my Faculty to be free to send my applications only to the top 20 universities, that I will be (probably :D ) easily accepted since I am an excellent student, and that the better ranked university is, the more money it has for schoolarships. Is this too optimistic view (specially now, when there is no Fulbright schoolarship which could cover at least half of the costs)? And I am thinking about universities like UCLA, NYU, Columbia, Duke...

Thanks!

Well, first of all when applying to universities, it is important to look at the Department - the Department is more critical for graduate studies than for undergraduate studies. In other words, the reputation of the department becomes of crucial importance. You might want to look at the following website in order to get an overview of the ranking systems for law schools:

http://www.ilrg.com/rankings/

Now as to the top 20 or so universities and the money that they have - well that can be a mixed bag, because sometimes since they are "top", they may also have very high fees. I can tell you that the LLM degree is in high demand - in addition, the first year of earnings after obtaining the diploma averages about $60,000 USD. This can make it challenging to find and qualify for financial assistance.

Programs through the United States Government are usually organized at different times. You can look under the educational exchanges in the Public Diplomacy Section of the United States Embassy website: