IAC Board

Serbia native continues to improve with Panthers

Everyone has a different journey to get to college. Some never go, while others have their eyes set on college from an early age.

Redshirt sophomore forward Lazar Grbovic was the former, never thinking he’d go to college. He didn’t even think he would be in America.

Grbovic was born in Belgrade, Serbia. Grbovic moved around some when he was younger, but at 7 years old he moved back to Belgrade and started playing basketball.

“I grew up in the capital city of Belgrade,” Grbovic said. “After three years, I moved to the south part of Serbia, and I stayed there for four years. I started first grade in Belgrade again because my dad got a job over there. I started playing basketball when I was seven years old.”

Grbovic eventually got to the age where he could play for a club team in Serbia.

Club teams work very differently compared to high school teams in America. In Europe, there are many teams for certain ages; however, if you are good enough, you can play in the ages above you.

The biggest difference, however, is the schooling and practices.

“You’re not going to school, which is great,” Grbovic said. “You’re going to school; you just [take an] exam, pass exam, one test and you’re good for the rest of the year for that subject. Then you just basically practice like a professional player, which is a big difference than here. You have to go to class every day and then after that you go to practice. It’s a pretty busy day.”

Grbovic ended up playing on the U19 Serbian national team in the under 19 Fiba World Cup.

“We had a really good team. We’ve won the Europa championship here before, and then we lost in the quarter final against another team,” Grbovic explained. “We also played against the USA National Team. I remember I guarded Cade Cunningham that game, and he was first speaking about the draft. This was a really good experience for me.”